Judging Process

Exceptional design should be rewarded. The RDDAs are awarded annually for beautiful and functional design, and economic success of projects within the South African property industry.

New shopping centres can be entered, as well as existing centres that have undergone renovation and/or expansion. There is also a separate category for International entries.

Judging Criteria

All aspects of shopping centre and store/restaurant design and development are judged including:

  • Excellent Design
  • Achieving a clear overall development goal
  • Responding positively to its market and surroundings
  • Adopting innovative design and construction solutions
  • Embracing sustainable design and business technique
  • Aerial Shot
  • Key Anchors & Brands
  • Main architectural features
  • Food courts
  • Parking area
  • Development Plans
  • Visual
  • Size
  • Type of centre
  • Key success factors
  • What benefits to the community
  • Number of shops
  • Contribution of infrastructure
  • What’s different
  • What’s new
  • % Return
  • On time
  • On budget
  • Employment before/during/after
  • How was project finalised

Judging Process

Step 1 Step 2 Step 3
Judges review eligible submissions and score them confidentially. Judges will not review entries from their own companies or any entry that might constitute a conflict of interest. In the 1st round judges are required to score yes/no if they feel the entry meets the above requirements and should be short-listed to 2nd round judging. All entries receiving more than 50% vote by the first round will go through to 2nd round judging. The 2nd round judging then includes all entries where “YES” was scored by 50% of the judges. Site visits are then conducted by judges and judges give a score out of 100%. Judging takes place in person, judges discuss entries based on the scores received and winners are decided.